Central heat/air fan for collection

Started by macboney, May 15, 2011, 05:05:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

macboney

Hi guys.  I am totally new to this topic and forum.  I am also like most operating on a very low budget.  Living on a fixed income makes for creative thinking some times.  I have a blower unit from a central heat/air unit from a mobil home system.  According to my local heat/ac neighbor, these units move more air volume that a regular household unit. 

1. What would be a minimum volume needed for a small system.  I am a one person hobbyist so there will never be more that one tool operating at the time that would be hoooked to a dust collection system?

2. What kind of final filter could be used. Could a bag from a regular collector be used or would a hard filter be worth the cost?  I do not want to exhaust outside and I plan to put any dust collection and air compressor equipment in an insulated (sound) closet to hold down noise.  I will use weatherstriping around the door and two heat/ac return air grates above door, one on both sides of framed wall with a fiberglass filter on the inner to stop larger particles and a regular pleated filter on the exterior grate for fine filtering.  Also, I found an Trion Air Filters industrial room filter at my local habitat store for $20.00 that I am going to hang from ceiling in main area (14 X 24 barn design building).  Is making my own system feasable and cost efficient?  I have more time than money right now.

phil (admin)

A typical HVAC blower will work great for an air scrubber, but not so great for a dust collector.  The fan wheel is of a different design and doesn't handle pulling through four to six inch ductwork.

Maybe yours is different because of its original use.  Have a pic of what you've got?

macboney